In many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the reasons? How can this problem be solved ?

It is true that nowadays, there is a significant increase in household waste, such as food packaging, in many countries. This can be attributed to several factors, which require possible solutions to be adopted.

There are several explanations as to why the amount of waste is generated in household activities. Perhaps one possibility is that industrial development associated with a fast-paced lifestyle encouraged people, especially workers, hane to choose food products made by a mass product line. Such consumption can lead to the jump of food packaging, including plastic packages or cans fashioned out of tins. The reason for this is that the food packaging process plays an important role which contributes to ensure that the quality of food is stable over a long time. Therefore, the greater the increase in demand for industrial food, the more household waste is generated. Another reason worth mentioning is that the economy that focuses on production has made too many redundant household items. This can result in a price war in the market that allows customers to purchase more products at a lower cost. Therefore, various household equipment, although still good to use, it were replaced by the new one.

Various measures, nevertheless, can be implemented to address these issues. The first possible solution is that people can change their lifestyle by planning a timetable or a to-do list for preparing their meals. They can get up early to cook their breakfast or lunch, which can be brought to their workplace. For instance, in several countries like Japan, workers always have a bento which was prepared by their wife, mother, or even by themselves for lunch. This helps them to reduce the demand for industrial food, and thus decrease household waste. The second approach is that the government and organizations should launch many media campaigns that help citizens raise awareness about using household items. When people realize the drawbacks of household waste, they may tend to change their spending habits. By being fully utilized, household equipment can have a longer lifespan, thereby reducing the amount of waste generated.

In conclusion, while many reasons can be given to explain why the waste generated in daily life is increasing in many nations, steps can be taken to alleviate the situation.