Some people believe the generation gap is widening due to technological advancements, while others argue it has always existed. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been a good deal of controversy around the issue of the generational gap. Some people believe that the development of technological systems has expanded this issue, while others argue that the gap has always been present and stable. This essay will examine both perspectives in detail before presenting my own stance.

The primary justification for deepened generational difference that digital innovation has completely transformed the mindset of younger generations and shaped their perception of the world. Today, it is much easier for young people to adapt effortlessly to different progressive changes such as gender equality, LGBTQ+ rights, and environmental, political, and social diversity due to the accessibility of new information and trends through social media platforms and the internet. According to a recent study, researchers found that a certain percentage of newly acquired information is obtained through dominant media platforms like TikTok and Instagram. Compared with the past, earlier generations before Gen Z, such as Millennials and Gen X, did not have access to limitless and free information. The digital divide and accessibility between these two age groups fuels conflicts, resentment, and communication breakdowns.

On the other hand, others argue that the generational gap and its possible consequences are not new, and they have always existed. Social, and political shifts are regular transformations that humanity has always witnessed. To illustrate, after World War II, societies experienced direct changes which created different perspectives worldwide between the generations who lived through the war and those who were born after the war. Recent research indicates that generational gaps vary across different historical periods, and the specific conditions of each era make these differences more visible.

To sum up, both of these perspectives can be found quite convincing for different reasons. While it cannot be denied that technological advancement has accelerated the widening process of the gap, core differences in values, interests, and worldviews have always remained. From my perspective, although technology has intensified and made the division more visible, it is not the main reason, as such differences have always existed throughout history.