You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? You should write at least 250 words.

fter the COVID-19 pandemic, a majority of workplaces recognised the advantages of shifting to remote work. Now major companies like Google, Meta, and Morgan Stanley prefer online communications between employees. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of such a shift towards online workplaces, before explaining why the merits far outweigh the demerits.

The promotion of remote work and online communication allows companies to hire based on talent rather than geography. A company which requires individuals with specialised knowledge of a certain topic no longer have to be limited to hiring people who live nearby. They can hire individuals from all over the globe. Additionally, online communication requires more detailed explanations and planning, which in turn create more developed results. A marketing company in Australia found that online discussions resulted in more successful marketing campaigns. They also observed more introverted designers contributing their creative ideas to help improve the campaign, as they could easily type out their ideas instead of presenting them in front of an entire team.

However, a few issues like bad connectivity and the risk of disruption persist. A lack of communication and accuracy in remote work is common because of the reduction in the number of chances to potentially discover errors. In offline workplaces, people often talk face to face with their superiors, and such interactions enable error discovery and correction. For example, a company which was responsible for creating programs found a greater number of mistakes in their code when individuals worked from home. Many employees also admitted that they felt distracted when they worked from home.

In conclusion, online communication is a developing field which is growing in popularity. It continues to create more opportunities for people around the world and promote participation. While it is important to acknowledge its limitations and find suitable solutions, it remains an extremely serviceable mode of communication.