How has technology affected communication in the modern workplace? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that the way office workers communicate today is influenced by technology. While there are good benefits in favor of technical interaction, I personally believe that it also leads to some drawbacks in the office environment.

There are two main impacts of technology on communication among people in the workplace. Firstly, colleagues tend to alter the method of interacting with each other. For instance, instead of setting a face-to-face meeting, they choose to exchange working information through messages or email. Secondly, due to applying technology at the workplace, people can manage and update the working progress of each other more rapidly. By using management apps such as 1office or Notion, the leader is able to follow staff’s tasks and send feedback more easily, so that the workflow might be smoother and ensure the productivity of the team.

On the other hand, interacting by using technical equipment at the business has some remarkable downsides. Misunderstanding among colleagues can be a result of spending most of the time working on the Internet. For example, if people just exchange working information by online conversations without face-to-face interaction, they might lead to conflicts. This can be the main cause that creates interruptions in the workflow and productivity in the modern office. In addition, depending on technology too much in communication also creates a challenge of close-knit relationships with colleagues. Due to a lack of catalyst to connect members in a team such as teamwork, having meals together or sharing difficulties at work, they might feel left out and harder to ask for help indeed.

In conclusion, we cannot deny the importance of technology in modern business, but it should be used in moderation to keep a productive and friendly working environment.