Human activities are endangering the environment. Why is this happening and what are the consequences?

Human activities are indeed posing a significant threat to the natural environment. In my opinion, there are several reasons behind this concern, which have a profound effect on the environment.

For a start, there are several reasons why this is the case, but the primary one is urbanization. To explicate, as people are migrating to cities in search of better opportunities and governments are expanding city areas to accommodate them, forested lands are being destroyed, leaving many animal species without a habitat. This has led to the extinction of several vulnerable animal species that were unable to adapt to the new environment. For example, when a species of crocodiles was introduced to the new zone after the destruction of their new habitat, they faced quite an attack from native pythons and other animals, which started to feed on them. Consequently, nearly thousands of crocodiles and some other native animal species went extinct in a brief moment.

Furthermore, to employ more people in cities, an increasing number of factories and transport systems were constructed, resulting in the growth of the yearly emission amount of CO( carbon monoxide), carbon dioxide, and exhaust fumes, which considerably increased the damage done to the ozone layer. As a result, unnecessary rays, held in the ozone layer started to enter the Earth’s surface, melting the significant amount of ice in the north poles. The more light enters the Earth, the higher the temperature becomes, causing the greenhouse effect( global warming).

In conclusion, there could be multiple reasons for human activities, such as urbanization and satisfying human needs, threatening the natural environment and these actions may have imminent effects