IELTS Writing Task 2 Prison is the most effective punishment for people who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Write at least 250 words. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

At present, crime is a serious challenge that threatens many countries in the world. The majority of citizens claim that the best punishment for law violators is their incarceration. I fully agree with this statement since I am sure that prisons serve to save people, maintain social order, and prevent future illegal actions. There are several reasons to support my view.

First, there is a question of security. Particularly, there should be strict measures aimed at keeping dangerous people away from the rest of citizens. When violent persons are locked in a cell for an indefinite period, they will not have any possibility to hurt or offend other people. In particular, they will never be able to beat up anyone or spoil someone’s business when they are incarcerated. As one can see, other alternatives to jail (fines or community work) will not prevent the commission of criminal activities.

Second, it should be mentioned that prisons play an important role in maintaining the public order. When a person faces the threat of being imprisoned for violating the law, he or she will never commit any criminal act. Moreover, imprisonment acts as a just penalty, which suits the seriousness of the criminal behavior. This is a way of satisfying the need for justice by the victims and their relatives who wish the offenders be suitably punished according to the law.

To conclude, I completely agree with the fact that imprisonment is the best form of punishment for criminals. This serves as a good way of protecting innocent people from offenders and other people from committing crimes.