If countries are serious about solving traffic problems, they should tax private cars very heavily and use the money to provide free or very cheap rail travel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It’s argued that to achieve light traffic, governments should increase the taxes on private cars, however, to know whether or not it’s a proper solution, many factors should be taken into account.

An initial perspective elucidates that taxing private cars heavily encourages more people to resort to public transportation. A considerable advantage emerges, leading to a significant erosion in traffic congestion that decreases major problems. It displays less environmental harm from traffic fumes and gas leaks, absorbing pollution outcomes. A fundamental commitment towards social life comes to the fore as people socialize and get to widen their horizons in public transportation.Moreover, fewer private cars guide to fewer accidents, which exhibits the significant presence of safety.

Yet, it is important to acknowledge, though, the potential disadvantages. This pattern leads to fluctuation in the economy, as private cars contribute to monetary transactions, whether it’s gas finance or repairs, causing a considerable impact on the economy. The limitation of public transportation across different fields is concerning, as public transportation has settled routes, and people can’t get anywhere they desire without private cars. Public travel houses an enormous number of people, presenting notable discomfort and crowded space, while private cars elucidate the contrary. More social incidents emerge as they are common to take place in crowded areas. In addition, driving cars is considered a hobby for the majority of drivers, as it could be considered a vital source of entertainment that people could be deprived of if this concept initiates.

In brief, solving traffic problems is vital, but it’s pertinent to examine the disadvantages and indicate to what extent they affect society across every field as in this case the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.