If countries are serious about solving traffic problems, they should tax private cars very heavily and use the money to provide free or very cheap rail travel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is a view that governments should introduce high taxes on private cars in order to address traffic congestion and spend that money to provide free railway transportation. I would completely agree with this statement, because it helps prevent car accidents and enhances people’s standard of living.

I would support imposing heavy taxes on private car drivers, since the main reason is to reduce the number of traffic accidents. It is clear that most of the drivers drive too fast, which might result in loss of life. If governments levy high taxes, the number of private cars will decrease significantly. As a result, they can deter individuals from driving private ones a lot, which is beneficial for their health. My father, for example, once was fined for speeding and he has never driven that fast again.

Additionally, with the highly taxed money, governments can provide residents with free rail travel, which significantly improves the standard of living and helps them save their own money for healthcare, housing and to fulfill their needs. For example, if people use their money for their well-being instead of spending it on transportation, they might get better-quality healthcare services.

In conclusion, by taxing private car drivers heavily, not only can human lifespan be extended, but public transportation system will be improved, totally benefiting society.