IIt is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that, kids understand the difference between right and wrong in young age is very important and punishment plays a key role in there. I completely disagree with that, children may be affect negatively with rude behaviors from parents.

One one hand, physical or verbal castigation harms the child’s psychology and that will be hurt their feelings and thoughts. A person whose feelings are hurt may turn into a more cowardly person and withdraw from other people. This fear might stay with kids, making it difficult for them to trust others or feel safe in different situations in their daily life. To illustrate, those who are constantly punished by their mother and father may become more timid or bully in business life.

On the other hand, punishing kids doesn’t always teach them why something is right or wrong. In other words, parents need to try other methods to raise their children well such as, long conversations or telling about their experiences. For example, when a child makes a mistake, he or she may not understand why the punishment was given, and may repeat it because they do not understand, but parents can explain their mistakes to them using different methods.

To sum up, even though some people think giving punishment to kids will be effective and accurate but I think raising a child is not about that; the most important thing is to explain right and wrong to children by putting effort into it.