Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a problem in developing countries. However, it is becoming apparent that in some developed countries, the illiteracy rate is on the rise. Discuss possible causes for increasing illiteracy rates in developed countries. What effect it may have on society in such countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Traditionally , illiteracy is considered primarily an issue in developing nations. However, it is now evident that in certain developed countries, the rate of illiteracy is increasing. This essay will explore potential cause of this problem and analyze possible effect it may have in these nation

The major factors contributing in the rise in illiteracy is that educational systems of some developed countries are poor, insufficient funds are allocated to schools resulting in overcrowded class rooms, outdated materials, limited support for students with special needs, Furthermore, developed societies often attract immigrants, leading to language problems due to different languages spoken by the people, there are limited resources for language education and support for non- native speakers, the aforementioned can impede their learnering, leading to loss of interest in school activities and subsequently dropout.

The rise in illiteracy rate in developed countries can have significant repercussions on societies . To begin, it can hinder economic growth and development, an illiterate individual may find it difficult in acquiring necessary skills and accessing employment opportunities resulting in decreased productivity, higher unemployment rate. Furthermore, illiteracy can lead to social deprivation, illiterate individuals may struggle to participate in civic life, making it hard for them to participate in politics, culture and community affairs, this may lead to divisions and weaken social bond in the society.

In conclusion, a rise in illiteracy rate in developed nations have several effects on society, ranging from economic repercussions to social deprivation and lack of political engagement. Addressing the root cause through robust Educational reform and interventions is key in ensuring equitable society.