Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a problem in developing countries. However, it is becoming apparent that in some developed countries, the illiteracy rate is on the rise. Discuss possible causes for increasing illiteracy rates in developed countries. What effect it may have on society in such countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There has been a long-established perspective that illiteracy is largely a challenge in developing countries. However, the escalating rate of illiteracy in most advanced countries is becoming quite palpable. This could be due to socioeconomic inequality, and the effect on the society could range from increased crime rate to economic crisis.

There are variety of factors contributing to the growing illiteracy in developed countries, one of the major causes can be socioeconomic inequality. Vast majority of the population in these countries are within the lower social strata for example, the migrants, racial minority group etc. Individuals within this group are being marginalized with limited access to basic amenities like, quality education or good job opportunities making it difficult for them to make ends meet. Financial pressure or reoccurring discrimination may cause them to drop out of school or negatively impact on their behaviour towards education. The United State is a relevant case in point based on a recent data that revealed the re-segregation of Hispanic and black students by race and economy in schools in 2023. However, it remains the leading advanced country with low literacy rate due to increased migration in the state.

The effect of the above-mentioned problem on these countries can be detrimental, as the disparities can increase the chances of crime rate and economic recession. Illiteracy hinders employment opportunities and often leads to low-income employment or unemployment, individuals with limited options and quest to meet financial demands may turn to illegal activities leading to decreased level of economic production and consumption associated with economic slowdown. These challenges might further plunge into society’s economic security.

To conclude, the soaring of illiteracy in advanced countries can be attributed to socioeconomic imbalance. The impact on individual could cause a ripple effect on the society like, high crime rate and economic implication.