Illiteracy has traditionally been viewed as largely a problem in developing countries. However, it is becoming apparent that in some developed countries, the illiteracy rate is on the rise. Discuss possible causes for increasing illiteracy rates in developed countries. What effect it may have on society in such countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The inability to read and write that was a predominant challenge in the underdeveloped nations is apparently observed to be on the increase in some advanced countries. This essay will examine the potential reasons behind this phenomenon as racism and economic disparity among citizens which reduce employment opportunities and promote generational poverty.

One of the major cause of illiteracy in the developed nations is attributed to racial discrimination. This is to say that, when individuals in a country are being maltreated or hated on the basis of their ethnicity or race, it authomatically creates a dissension among its citizens. As a result, the minority group tend to shrink backwards from participating actively in relevant activities such as education because of humiliation and oppression from the predominant population. Inadvertently, this practice does not only affect their confidence and self-esteem but also reduces concentration and drive in education with a high school drop-out and criminality, hence, increasing illiteracy level.

Turning to the effect of illiteracy on the advanced nations, a striking point is reduction in employment capabilities. Undoubtably, an illiterate is limited in communication and social interaction so, finds it difficult to be gainfully employed . Although he has the physical ability, impaired knowledge and inadequacy in interaction render him incapacitated to fit into the job. For instance, if employed, he cannot understand relevant operational concepts required for the job. This defficiency in-turn breeds an increase in poverty rate in the developed society.

In conclusion, illiteracy which originally poses a major concern in the underdeveloped nations is progressively rising in the developed society, consequent upon racial segregation thus reduces employment prospects while promoting societal impoverishment.