In all countries, there are driving laws to ensure road safety. However, some people still break these laws, such as by using mobile phones while driving or by speeding. What are the reasons for this? What could be the best solution to this problem?

In every nation, it is true that driving laws are meticulously crafted in order to promote road safety and protect drivers’ lives. Nevertheless, a significant number of individuals continue to break these laws by using mobile phones while driving, overspeeding or other risky driving behaviours. This detrimental phenomenon has brought several negative impacts on traffic participants, necessitating practical measures to be adopted.

Several factors contribute to the illegal driving behaviours. Perhaps the most obvious point is the rapid evolution of communication technology – resulting in the vast popularity of smartphones and tablets. Therefore, a vast array of social media platforms, as well as other communication channels and streaming services have emerged, thus fostering a culture of constant connectivity. Given these circumstances, it is not that surprising to see so many drivers succumbing to the irresistible temptation of checking messages, or watching videos while driving. Such dangerous behaviours often result in distraction that causes serious – even in worse scenarios – fatal consequences to these reckless drivers. Another worth mentioning point is the lack of legal enforcers on road, which further exacerbates the existing problems. A prime illustration of this point can be seen in Vietnam, a country that witnessed a significant traffic mortality rate of 42% in 2023.

To make drivers become more responsible for their driving, a number of multifaceted approaches is required. Chief among these is that governors need to develop a comprehensive legal framework that not only banishes unlawful behaviours but also fosters a culture of safe driving. In order to achieve such desirable results, it is advisable to tighten legal penalties for traffic offenses, increase the presence of highway patrol officers, as well as collaborate with technology companies to restrict phone usage through vehicle’s built-in safety features. In the presence of these measures, drivers will be likely to follow traffic rules as they do not want to face any harsh penalties based on their unlawful driving behaviours, thereby reducing traffic accident rates, and ensuring road safety for both drivers and pedestrians.

In conclusion, various factors can explain why drivers are prone to be distracted by technology devices, thus leading to dangerous driving behaviours and deteriorating road safety. However, a concerted effort from the government can alleviate these hindrances and reduce the human cost. Only by establishing strict legal punishment alongside preventative innovations can we make progress in terms of reducing traffic violations, saving lives and ensuring that modern technology is born to support drivers – not endanger them.