In Britain, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some elderly nowadays prefer to live in a nursing home where they can meet other people in the same age, with many nurses will look after them. I personally think that the government and families should work together to pay for this care.

To begin with, the government and the family of elderly people have the same responsibility to look after the older generation. The first is the family. Since the older generation had given everything that they had to their children, then this is the time for the young generation in that family to pay it back. To illustrate, when people in old age were still young, they tried their best to rise their children to fulfill their needs, such as homes, food, clothes, education, and even entertainment; therefore, when the parents get older and could not do anything by themselves, then their children should help them. Even though those children are busy with their works, then they can bring the elderly people to nursing house and pay for it because some nurses will take over their responsibilities to their parents.

In addition, governments also have a responsibility for the older generation because when those elderly were in their productive age, the government took money from them by taxes. As a result, the government should pay it back, since taxes are collected to bring better life for all citizens. However, the government and the elderly’s relatives can work together to pay for the service to decrease nation’s burden or to help those families which have financial problems. For instance, the government can pay for the rent of the nursing house, while the children could spend money for food and clothes.

To sum up, I strongly believe that families and governments should make an agreement to pay for the elderly care at nursing houses since the older generation had helped them before.