In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles as the main means of transport is reducing even though it is beneficial both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference? How can people be encouraged to use bicycles? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Even though riding bicycles provides numerous benefits to the environment as well as to the physical appearance, the proportion of individuals using it as the main mode of transport is declining in certain countries. While there are several reasons behind this, certain steps can be taken to revolve this issue.Firstly, a rising group of individuals opt for motor vehicles for multiple reasons. On of the main reasons is that one can save more time when they travel with motor vehicles. For example, if someone needs to travel to a hotel which is located at a distance of 20 kms from his residence, he/she would always choose the mode of transport that takes lesser time to reach the destination. In this case, a bicycle cannot be used, for obvious reasons. Hence, the priority is time here. Similarly, in this fast paced world, everyone wants things to happen really quick, which might be the reason they ignore bicycle for the main means transportation. However, while the allure of technology is undeniable, this trend poses significant risks, ultimately, polluting the environment with usage of fuel and batteries for the vehicles other than that of a bicycle.

Although, a part of the society whom concern about the health and environment encourages to use cycles in the leisure time have their own viewpoints. One major reason is that it is environmentally safe when compared to engines and electric vehicles that consume fuel and electricity. Besides they also emit harmful carbon dioxide. Opting for bicycle is beneficial economically as well as very helpful to the nature. By conducting a awareness program to educate people on the benefits of using cycles would encourage them. Bicycle production companies can offer discounts to order to increase bicycle usage among the society.

Despite the conveniences offered by this trend, the drawbacks are increasingly concerning. So it is imperative for the individuals and the government to address this issue and find a balanced approach.