In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles as the main means of transport is reducing even though it is beneficial both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference? How can people be encouraged to use bicycles? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Opinions are divided on the declining bicycle use by citizens of some nations due to their preference for other means of commuting. This essay will explore the reasons and suggest possible measures to mitigate the problem.

The increasing preference for other means of transport rather than bikes remains prevalent for reasons related to long traveling distances and environmental inconvenience. With regard to the former, career factors such as distances from workplaces and schedules may hinder people from cycling. Currently, many employees find cycling impractical due to the long commutes required from their residential areas to workplaces. Furthermore, unfavorable weather conditions such as extreme heat, rain, or cold deter individuals from choosing bicycles over more comfortable and weather-resistant vehicles like cars or public transportation. In addition, the lack of well-developed cycling infrastructures in many cities also exacerbates the problem, making it unsafe and inconvenient for cyclists to commute.

Though there are various reasons why people prefer other commuting means to cycling, there are strategies for governments to alleviate the issues. Firstly, organizing regular cycling tournaments and competitions can foster public enthusiasm and a culture of cycling. For example, annual cycling races in many nations with appealing prices and public recognition can motivate people to take up cycling as a sport and a mode of transport. In addition, authorities should invest in the construction and maintenance of more cycling lanes around the regions to facilitate drivers. Indeed, a large number of residents avoid using bikes as the result of the lack of cycling lanes, where they can freely travel without the crowded population of four-wheeled vehicles and traffic congestion.

In conclusion, the decline in the use of bikes is driven by factors such as commuting distances, inadequate infrastructure, and unfavorable weather. By organizing more cycling tournaments and building many lanes for cyclists, the problem can be mitigated.