In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles as the main means of transport is reducing even though it is beneficial both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference? How can people be encouraged to use bicycles? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is noticed that the count of individuals riding bicycles significantly decreased. Although, it causes a positive impact to our health and the mother earth, most of them are prefering vehicles that run using fossil fuels or electricity like bikes and cars. The main reasons behind this change is reduction in the effort to ride and considering it as one of the luxurious goods.

To commence with, due to industrialization, the new innovation in the mode of transport is evident. For instance, bulkarts are replaced by bicycles and soon automobiles will take over. The shift in people’s preferences is due to specific features provided by these vehicles. They are easy to drive and require the least effort, just accelerating using hand while, riding bicycle can at times be tiring as it requires constant pedaling to move forward. For instance, commuting using scooty or bike is convenient and faster than traditional two wheeler bicycle. It always provides charging points, bluetooth an ordinary cycle lack.

The another main reason is the social status. Using pedal cycles place an individual in almost the last category in the society. For instance, travelling to work place using a mountain bike will downgrade your status in the office. However, one of my colleague, travel to and fro using his gear cycle. His main motto was to prevent pollution from automobiles. Moreover, government should step into this matter and take necessary measures. Some of them include, conducting 5 meter ride monthly, seminars to create awareness about air pollution, health issues and other side effects of it’s frequent usage and rewarding people, actively participating in not letting the bicycles go extinct.

In summary, even though shift in preferences is seen due to the inclination towards new technology and social status, people’s mind can be altered by feeding their brains with adverse effects of extreme usage of bikes and scooty and encouraging them to utilize bicycles to commute to short distances. Furthermore, constanty motivating them to get rid of the negative impression on bicycle.