in many cities and urban areas around the world crime is increasing. what is the cause of this? how can governments help to prevent crimes?

Nowadays, an increment in the rate of crime is a concerning problem all over the world. The main reasons are related to poor life quality and economic crises, which, from my point of view, governments have an indispensable authority to solve these problems.

To start with, the large gap between wealthy and poor people leads to unequal distribution of wealth among the society and it pushes needy citizens to become thieves, robbers, etc. For instance, the unemployment rate in urban areas or lack of money could be incentives to commit crimes for poor people. Another factor that should be mentioned is the environment in which individuals are living. Especially, children’s upbringing style by their families has a great impact on crime rates. It is a clear fact that most children do not get the proper upbringing by their parents. They have to instill basic regulations and spend proper time with their children. By being ignored, children can start to investigate new environments, which may seem enjoyable to them. However, in reality, they can be used by malicious people.

Although crime rates are increasing day by day, governments can prevent it by boosting economy, such as opening new workplaces, paying salaries to unemployed individuals, etc. Moreover, by raising awareness among children in schools, they can prevent them from breaking laws in their future lives.

In conclusion, although a higher rate of different kinds of crimes is an issue among societies in the world, by implementing several economic regulations and raising awareness, governments can reduce the rates significantly.