In many cities around the world traffic congestion has become a main problem. What are the causes of this issue? What solutions can be implemented to address the problem?

Traffic jams is a contemporary issue in urban areas and it creates difficulties for the city dwellers. The congestion is triggered by a variety of reasons, contributing to discomfort to the people. In this essay, I will shed light on the reasons and provide my opinions on how we can get rid of traffic congestion.

First of all, as cities provide better employment and easy access to different facilities, people tend to move to cities as a dream destination, contributing to greater number of people and vehicles there, causing the traffic jams. Secondly, especially in underdeveloped country, the roads and infrastructure are not in good conditions, leading to traffic congestion. Besides this, mismanagement of traffic system can even cause congestion in developed countries. Last but not the least, lack of strict traffic rules and laws, people’s awareness, and unwillingness of drivers to laws contribute to the congestion too.

However, above mentioned causes can be eliminated with proper actions. For example, implementing strict laws and rules will enforce city dwellers to abide by the rules. In addition, city management should have dedicated budget for roads and infrastructure so that unwanted congestion does not happen due to bad conditions of the roads. On the other hand, social campaigns, for example, awareness program in education institutions and advertisement in social media can teach people to know traffic laws and systems, leading to better traffic management for the cities.

To conclude. It is undeniable that traffic jams become nightmares in some cities but I believe the authorities coupled with general people can ensure a proper traffic management system for all.