In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, many people who are living in rural areas are moving to urban locations and as a consequence, the amount of people in these areas is falling. Even though I firmly believe that it is not a good trend, I can understand why people is doing it; however, it could lead to strong consequences in the future.

Yo begin with, population have been moving to urban areas due to the lack of opportunities in the countryside. Generally speaking, rural areas are more peaceful than cities, with an awful lot of advantages; nevertheless, some things such as payments are lower and there are not quite as much facilities as urban areas, such as universities, stores, etc. For instance, most of jobs in the Colombian countryside are not regulated, and even some of them do not cover health, insurances or pension, which is unacceptable.

It is important to say that this migration affects severally not only to a part of the population, but also to most of them. In fact, most of vegetables that are sold at cities supermarkets are still produced in countryside small towns, so that this could lead to a problem related to food and health. Furthermore, raw materials are mostly provided by producers whose farms are in these towns. Given that, I firmly believe that this is a negative development and government must pay attention to it, investing money and creating plans for the improvement of services such as jobs, education and health; in this way, people would be encouraged to stay there through having more opportunities and better conditions.

In conclusion, nowadays people are moving to urban areas in pursue of more opportunities and this could affect most of the population. However, this could be triggered or controlled through by the government by investments in multiple fields to motivate people to stay there.