In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Migration from rural areas to cities is becoming a major issue in many countries around the world, leading to a decline in the rural population due to rapid urbanisation. Many people believe that after the large waves of migration from rural areas there may be overcrowding and unequal distribution of resources in cities. In addition, this situation may lead to a decline in the economy and cultural heritage. In my opinion, this is a negative development for both urban and rural people. My reasons for this situation will be explained in the following sentences.

First of all, as people move to cities for better opportunities and treatment, rural areas lose their common values for example, when a few families from the countryside move to a large city they may feel alone in the city while those who remain feel emptiness and isolated among themselves. Moreover when people move to another place of living, the town cannot save its cultural heritage and traditions by itself.

Second of all, one of the crucial points to consider is the weakening agricultural system because of the migrations. Farming is declining in rural areas and there are fewer farmers in the fields day by day which is slowly killing the agricultural economy. Another point to consider is that the loss of agricultural knowledge due to many migrations makes towns forget their traditional farming methods which also has a negative impact on the agricultural sector.

All in all, migration from rural areas to heavily populated cities is a problem that should be prevented immediately by authorieties.