In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your own opinion

With health as a prominent focus in Governmental bodies in recent years, there has been an increasing focus towards maintaining a healthy state among the general public. Thus, people’s life expectancy has been increasing over the years. To some extent, I believe that the benefits of this phenomenon outweighs its drawbacks for a number of reasons.

To begin with, being able to spend more precious time with family is definitely a privilege of the phenomenon. Younger generations are now granted with more time to fulfill filial piety to their parents, creating a tighter bond. In Chinese culture, it is important for children to fulfill their responsibility as an offspring, respecting elders, providing both financial and pleasure to their parents. Moreover, it is never easy to experience the passing of loved ones. Even though inevitable, granting more time for families and friends to create lovable memories to treasure would provide a better.

On the other hand, people argue that living longer would lead to a longer workforce engagement, prolonging their sufferings. Furthermore, not all individuals are still fit to work at that age, even if so, they are just not as capable as they once were. Despite their health decline and the work incapacity, a later retirement indubitably provides an opportunity to earn more money, giving opportunity and motivation for people to relax and travel after retirement, which indefinitely is an advantage. With an increased life expectancy, the majority of the population could spend their post-retirement period around the world, enjoying the spectacular wonders of the world. And for some, it even opens a window to pursue their dreams!

In a whole, an increasing life expectancy is more beneficial to the general public, granting people more time to spend with their loved ones and endeavor on travelling ventures across the world, despite having to engage in the workforce longer.