In many countries around the world, the rural population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, because most rural people are moving from countryside to cities, there has been a decrease in the number of people in the countryside. In my opinion, this is a positive development despite drawbacks such as the countryside becoming empty, without many people living there. However, rural people may have a better life by living in cities.

To begin with, overpopulation is one of the disadvantages of this development. This is because if more rural people move to cities, the city itself will be too packed with such a high number of people. Therefore, this may lead to an increase in the number of traffic jams and unemployment, because a city may not need this high number of workers or jobs. Furthermore, this may lead to deeper problems, like empty spaces in the countryside. Given that there are many trees, crops and gardens in the countryside, this development may lead to these plants not being taken care , which leads to death of many of those plants and trees.

However, despite these concerning issues there are benefits that will turn this development to a more positive side. By rural people moving to cities , they may have massive improvements in their lives, as cities in one way are more convenient and better to live in , than in the countryside. Those who moved to cities may get better job opportunities, to support their family, if they have one . Additionally, cities provide a better schooling , which might be really useful for children than in the countryside. For instance, the government of India ,every 2 years invites those from the countryside to cities, hoping they will have better lives in cities. As the government is aware of the poor conditions of the countryside, they send groups of people to go to the countryside and offer them to move to the cities. Moreover, they help by giving them some money and finding new job postings.

In conclusion, it is true that this development may lead to overpopulation which leads to further problems such as traffic jams and unemployment due to a high number of people. Nonetheless, I think it may improve prople’s lives massively and open new doors that will help them a lot.