In many countries around the world, shopping has turned into a form of entertainment rather than a way of getting what people need. Discuss the reasons behind this trend. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people in most countries shop for fun instead of fulfilling what they required to survive. The main reason for this trend is the advancement of technology which allow people to shop anywhere and anytime. Moreover, the costs of other entertainments are expensive. I will elaborate the causes and state my opinion in the following paragraphs.

With the advancement of technology, shopping for amusement has become easier and more convenient. Many people can preview many products just by installing online-shopping applications. As a result, people can spend hours scrolling on their phones to search for their desired products and comparing their prices among platforms. With a single click on a button, they can get their products delivered in front of their home. This convenience posts very much temptation for people to irresponsibly spend their money on things that they do not need. Moreover, other entertainments, such as watching cinemas or travelling, costs a lot of money, which only middle-up individuals can purchase it. Unlike online shopping, which can be experienced by any economy segments.

However, this trend can lead to severe financial conditions to individuals. For example, individuals with huge amount of expenses will not have anything to save in the end of the month, and if this situation continue, they cannot afford to upgrade their skills that are required to get a higher career. As a result, they will be stuck in the same situations for years, and unable to shift to the next stage of life, such as getting into relationships or marriage. Hence, the birth rate of a country could decrease and damage the country’s economy.

In conclusion, the development of technology has made shopping become easier which can lead to irresponsible spending. In my opinion, this situation exposes people with more negative effects rather than benefits, which can cause severe economic conditions for both people and countries in the long run.