In many countries CCTV cameras are used for security purpose, do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvanges.

Nowadays, some countries are using CCTV cameras to monitor residential areas. Although video surveillance has some disadvantages, I believe that it is more beneficial because it can give essential and very crucial details about such incidents as robbery or accidents that take place in public areas.

One drawback of having video monitoring at public locations is that it can compromise citizens’ privacy. Maintaining territorial privacy is the responsibility of the government, which can be compromised somewhat by the use of security cameras. For instance, if someone has a social function in a residential area, it is recorded by CCTV cameras that are held for monitoring purposes. This is not ethical as the privacy of an individual has not been maintained. However, I think that keeping track of the public areas for crimes or any unacceptable events is far more important than territorial confidentiality.

One of the major benefits of installing video surveillance cameras in public places is that they can record offences or accidents that take place in daily life. By keeping an eye on such places where such kinds of misdeeds usually occur, authorities can reach the offenders easily, and can take action against them. By doing this, the state can reduce the rate of crimes in public areas. For example, in recent studies, it has been found that after placing security cameras in residential areas, robbery cases have been lowered. Therefore, I am in favor of fixing the security monitoring devices in communal areas.

In conclusion, while CCTV cameras can limit personal space where people have a reasonable expectation of privacy, maintaining surveillance for any wrongdoing or offence is much more significant and beneficial.