In many countries, children are given more freedom than in the past. Is this a positive or negative development?

Compared to the past, children today have far greater freedom in their daily lives. Although this approach can bring young people a wide range of benefits, some drawbacks also need serious attention. Overall, I believe it is largely a positive development when managed responsibly.

One of the major advantages of giving freedom is that it helps children to develop independence and self-confidence. They learn to make decisions consciously and to take responsibility for their choices. Main reason behind this action is that failure and mistakes teach every individual to self-direction. Furthermore, ability to act independently enhances confidence. This feeling helps young generation to not to lose their positions between society and to tackle the problems through thinking critically. For instance, during group debates children make mutual interactions, debate with each other to deal with the given issue without hesitation and doubt.

However, there are several disadvantages that parents need to take care of. Giving children excessive independence leads to lack of discipline. In turn, this action results weak of respect toward parents or authority. Especially in today’s rapidly developing technological world it is straightforward for children being affected by social media. For example, they watch some short montage videos with negative behaviour and may appear temptation to repeat it. Furthermore, cyberbullying actions are inevitable and accessible. Children may suffer from pressure by their peers or strange people. In these cases, parents need to take the necessary measures. For example, managing their child’s time properly with extra activities, install programs that gives access for child’s phone, and being aware of how children spend their time.

In conclusion, while independence provides wide range of opportunities for child’s development as person with an adequate behaviour, including become self-confident, thinking critically and taking responsibility for their actions, there are some negative consequences are not absent, such as cyberbullying, waste of time and respect problems. Despite these outcomes, if parents learn how to balance these two approaches, it gives them opportunity to raise educated, self-controlled personals.