In many countries, fast food is becoming a more common part of people's diets. What are the advantages and disadvantages of eating fast food?

Eating fast food has now become a popular practice in many countries. This essay will first discuss the main advantage of eating fast food before moving on to the main disadvantage of this type of meal.

The main advantage of fast food is indubitably its convenience. That is to say that anyone at any time could go to these kind of restaurants and find a cheap and fast meal. Fort instance, many workers, having very short lunch breaks, can’t afford to eat every day at proper restaurants as it would take too much time. On the contrary, employees can easily go to a Mcdonald’s or a Burger King and have lunch just in time to get back to their jobs.

However, fast food chains are well known to be unhealthy. Most of the dishes served by these restaurants are extremely caloric and, in the long run, eating them could cause dangerous illnesses, such as obesity and other diseases linked to high colesterole levels. That is the case of the US, where fast food is an important part of the national cuisine. Here, more than the 50% of the population has been diagnosed with obesity and this trend is not going to reverse as fast food chains are now more popular than ever.

In conclusion, fast food allows people to eat something fast and tasty at any time, but eating it frequently could have some serious consequences on people’s health. Therefore, I believe it is important to educate ourselves about the risks of a diet that relies too much on these kind of meals.