In many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the reasons? How can this problem be solved?

In today’s society, it is not hard to catch an article mentioning our alarming quantity of domestic waste and its effect on the Earth, the habitat where human beings live. The overpopulation in almost every country and the consumerism resulting in the increase of household waste. Raising the awareness of the residents by not only educating but also encouraging them is the best positive possible approach toward environmental sustainability.

Due to the explosion in popularity across the world in the last century, myramid of countries, especially those in Asia, have suffered from the overconsumption of daily needs such as food, clothes, and toiletries. These materials are usually wrapped with disposal packages such as soft-plastics and plastics which are biodegradable when being dumped into landfills. Moreover, plastics are reported to be made from crude oil, which is harmful for our ozone layers in particular.

The government needs to address this complicated issue considerately, then effectively tackle it. By educating the residents about the negative impact of household refuse on the natural living environment, higher authorities allow their citizens to consume responsibly, which subsequently results in the reduction of useless waste being disposed into overflowing landfills. Besides, education is considered to be a sustainable resolution as children being taught about conserving the ecosystem later on will be the ones who take action.

In conclusion, the degeneration of our nature is mostly owing to the overpopulation and irresponsible consumption of buyers. It is crucial for those in power to bring more educational opportunities about preserving the environment for their habitants, enabling them to reasonably make a purchase.