In many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the reasons? How can this problem be solved?

There has been a notable rise in the discharge of households all over the world, especially food packages in recent years. This essay will thoroughly analyse the potential causes of the issue and propose feasible solutions to alleviate it.

The surge in household waste can be attributed to two factors. First and foremost, the issue is associated with the widespread of single-use items, which are more convenient and affordable. With the tight schedules of many individuals in modern society, more than often they would opt for pre-packaged, ready to eat food instead of buying fresh ingredients, since cooking seems like such a time and effort-consuming task. As a results of constant consumption of single-use packages and products, the disposal of such items escalated, leaving a detrimental impact on the environment. Secondly, due to the increasing trends and content creators influencing what we want to spend money on, people tend to overconsume. Online markets are encouraging this wasteful patterns on consumers, allowing anyone to buy fast fashion, trending products that lack practicallity, with just a few clicks. The quick turnover cycle of one item consequences in excessive shipment packaging, causing the owner to throw them away after only a few uses. Overall, the spending patterns and preference to convenient, single-use items of consumers are worsening the troubling trend.

To tackle it, there are a few possible measurements which require the engagement of the government and also each individual. To begin with, there should be a limit set to the amount of packages can be used on one product. It is also recommendable for the government to implement a widespread replacement of disposable plastics with more eco-friendly materials that can be kept for longer use. Furthermore, it also a responsibility for each person to educate themselves on what impact their spending choices can have on the environments. We should all gradually switching to more sustainable items, cut down on the consumption of prepackaged or canned food, and consume more efficiently. In conlusion, the detrimental trend of increasing household discharge is caused by several factors, mainly preference for convenience without concerning sustainability, and overconsumption. Some feasible solutions are suggested to counteract the situation, such as switching to eco-friendly and sustainable materials and cutting down on excessive consuming which lacks practicallity. It takes both the government and people efforts to mitigate the impact of this wasteful trend on our Earth.