In many countries, mainly tourists, but not local people, visit museums and historical sites. Why does this happen, and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In many parts of the world, it has become the norm for museum to get more foreign visitors as opposed to local residents. Attracting locals to visit historical places and the reasons for this has been a topic of debate for many years. In this essay, I will bring some reasons for trend and give some possible solution to tacle this pressing issue.

The lack of visits by local people to historical places can be attributed to a variety of factors. With the sense of familiarity and the presence of internet, museums may not seem exciting or unusual for local societies. Locals can find it boring to visit historical places as this types of places may become their everyday environments. When it comes to the internet, people are now unlikely to feel bored thanks to the proliferation of captivating apps and social media compains, making it immossible to take time for visiting historical places to gain knowledge. Given these circumstances, it is not surprising than tourists are the dominant visitors for historical buildings. Take my country, for example; mainly tourists visit our museums and historical sites rather than local individuals.

To address this problems, museum and historical sites can implement numerous methods. One of them is organizing community-focused events. By doing it, museums can attract local communities to be active visiting. Additionally, historical places can make great strides in attracting locals by offering discounts for entrance. Finally, replacing old-fashion exhibitions to modern ones, such as virtual reality and interactive display, might be a game-changer to make locals more appealing for museum and other historical structures.

In conclusion, while there are some strategies to encourage people to allocate time to visiting museum, I believe that the people should not only visit museum for enjoy spending time, but also gain information about their cultural heritage and origins.