In many countries, mainly tourists, but not local people, visit museums and historical sites. Why does this happen, and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In our contemporary life, historical heritages are increasingly attractive to international tourists more than the local. This essay will evaluate on reasons motivating this behavior as well as providing viable solutions to this issue.

There are understandable factors contributing to this phenomenon. To begin with, due to representing the culture of a country, foreign tourists are more likely to visit museums to understand the history. Museums usually hold artifacts providing unique information about life in the past such as buildings or clothing, which is different from their home countries. Therefore, visitors can acquire knowledge about this country’s tradition and life. Another driving factor behind this is due to a lack of interest of the public. Traditionally, history is learned by the local citizens from fixed education curriculums or books, leading to the decrease in their natural curiosities. Secondly, the high cost of entrance fee is also a barrier for locals to visit. When the costs are increasingly becoming higher, It is becoming unaffordable to the average salary of usual citizens, the reduction in the number of local visitors is inevitable.

Therefore, some paths are irresistible to improve the implications. Firstly, authorities should organize events or promotions in order to engage with the native to join the exhibition. For example, by inviting public figures to advertise on social media as well as involve directly, museums can successfully encourage visitors to participate in. Additionally, the regulation from the government to reduce the entrance cost is also essential as the museum will attract/ grasp the attention of a wide range of customers from different status who can pay without any hesitation. In some scenarios, it should be free for expeditions in schools in order for students to learn about history.

In conclusion, a lack of curiosity and expensive entrance fee are two key motivations leading to the decline of local attention. Should the government want to solve the issues, the implementation needs to be operated.