Some people believe that only the most outstanding students should be rewarded. Others, however, thinks that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both both views and give your own opinion.

Currently educational institutions are providing awards for student accomplishments; however, there is a debate over whether the students who earn these awards should only be those that are high achievers academically or whether all students should also receive awards if they make improvements academically. It is my opinion that both of these types of students are important and a lot of times rewarding improvement is more inspiring to the majority of students.

To begin with, the students who earn high grades work very hard at their studies and put forth effort into focusing on school work. Providing students who receive high grades the recognition they deserve serves as motivation for other students to do well as well as creating a positive competitive environment among students, which helps to develop the academic culture of a school.

Many other students do not have the same ability to learn as quickly or easily hence they need to be looked at differently when it comes time for awards. Many of these students may struggle academically at first but as they put forth more effort and figure out how to learn, they will eventually develop into better students with continued effort. When schools only provide awards for the top graduating academic students, it leaves many of the lower scoring children feeling unappreciated and without confidence. When children are acknowledged for their progress, it provides encouragement for them to continue trying, along with a developing a more positive attitude towards their studies.

Educational institutions should provide awards to both high achieving students and progressing students; however I feel like improving students should receive a little more emphasis on awards than those who are highest achieving students. Providing top student awards is important; however providing awards for improvement only enhances an educational environment.