In many countries, more and more elderly people are living in nursing homes rather than with their families. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

It has become increasingly common to see elderly people being placed in care homes. Although placing elderly people in nursing homes has several benefits, such as professional care and opportunities to socialise with people of the same age, it also has some drawbacks, including high costs and separation from family members.

On the one hand, caring homes for elderly also present advantages, the most positive aspect is that nursing homes are provided with professional care by nurses who are monitor old people’s health and give medication on time. This is especially useful for people who have serious problems with their health. For example, people who suffers from the diabet can recieve regular medicial care on time. So they don’t have to worry about their health and the time they have to take a medication. Moreover, in nursing homes old people can get sense of connection by taking a part in group activities. Participating with smilar aged group people can help elderly socialise and develop sense of belonging. For example, they can take a part in group activities, games, exercises or in social events to prevent loneliness and make more friends.

On the other end of the scale, caring homes for elderly also present drawbacks, the most obvious disadvantage is the nursing homes can cost expensive. Because of the good quality service nursing homes provide can make financial problems for families who cannot afford it. For example, families can spent large amount of money for caring homes fees which can cause finnacial pressure. In addition, being placed elderly people in nursing homes can cause sense of missing family members. Because they meet with their children rarely and in this period of time can seem long for them. For instance, old people who lives in caring home can see their family members once or twice a month, which can make them feel isolated from their family. So this can effect their relationship and communication with their family

In conclusion, it has become increasingly widespread to see old people being moved to nursing homes. While moving old poeple to caring homes can have some positive aspects, such as being provided professional care and fell connected with society, it also have several disadvantages, including high fees for good quality service and feel sense of isolation from family members.