In many countries, obesity among children has drastically increased. Parents should be held responsible if their children are obese. What are your views on the subject

The rate of overweight children is growing in many parts of the world. Some people believe that guardians will be accountable if their children become fat. I think parents are not responsible for the overweight of children, because they are influenced by a sedentary lifestyle and marketing and genetics are also a factor.

One of my reasons for disagreement is that the children are influenced and exposed by external things that affect their lifestyles. For example, fast food influences children by its taste. But, consumption affects health badly. Also use of smartphones, tablets and other gadgets reduces the physical activity in children and the deposition of heavy fat in the body causes obesity. This plays a major role in childhood but it cannot be completely controlled by parents. Another factor is governments and schools. Schools should provide healthy meals and nutrients for the children for their healthy life. They should provide some physical activities and give time for them to play. Governments should educate children about obesity and other health problems caused by it. It will help children to be aware about it and to maintain a proper diet for their healthy life.

Furthermore, genetics and some medical conditions like hormone changes and thyroid are also a main factor for obesity. Some children gain more weight due to their health disorders, even if they follow a proper diet and are controlled by their parents. So it is not reasonable to blame parents for obesity in children.

On the other hand, parents play a major role in obesity in children. They can encourage children to do cycling, swimming, running, jogging and to follow a proper diet to reduce this. They can limit time for watching television and smartphones and promote doing some outdoor activities. Parents can make their children aware of healthy lifestyles.

In conclusion, I disagree with the statement ‘ parents held responsible if their children are obese. Although parents play an important role to educate them about obesity and their preventions like swimming and other sports activities . It is also affected by genetics. So responsibility should by shared by parents, governments .