In many countries, people are spending less time cooking at home and more time eating ready-made or restaurant food. What are the reasons for this trend? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

There is increasing discussion surrounding the rising preferences of fast food. This has led to two key questions: whether it is a positive or negative development and what are the reasons for this phenomenon. In my point of view it is generally a negative development and it is mainly driven by busy lifestyle and its convenience.

First, in terms of the initial question, it can be argued that it is mainly caused by convenience and people’s lack of free time in people’s daily routine. This is due to the fact that junk food is more affordable compared to our traditional dishes. It is indeed that nowadays high-calorie meals are widely available, we can buy it from various malls or restaurants. And it is ready to eat, which requires no skill to consume it at all. In addition, the lack of leisure time plays a crucial role. Today many individuals are working long hours. As a result people have no time to cook, and therefore people consume unhealthy food as it fits into a tight schedule.

In terms of the latter question, it can be argued that junk food needs to be considered as negative. This is largely because ready meals are high in unhealthy ingredients such as salt, sugar and sauce, resulting in various health problems such as obesity and heart disease. Therefore this should be regarded as negative.

In conclusion, the reasons for this phenomenon are clear and its overall impact needs to be considered as negative