In many countries, people can eat a wide variety of food today. As a result,they eat food from other regions instead of local food. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is a very popular and prevalent tendency to eat dishes from different cultures rather than local food. It seems obvious that the advantages of this greatly outweigh the disadvantages.

To begin with, by eating dishes from different cultures, people are becoming more open to encountering other cultures. In many closed countries like Turkmenistan people tend to eat only their food that is popular in their region and they don’t know anything about other cuisines. And if a tourist visits this country, locals will be afraid of him, giving strange glances and not being completely comfortable with him. I’m sure it’s all a matter of being open to other ideas and cultures and a cuisine diversity helps with confronting other cultures.

Furthermore, this tendency leads to massive discovery of new different tastes and it, therefore, improves their experience. In my country people didn’t know anything about western world and their culture, but with the USSR collapsing, Russians discovered a new variety of foods, starting from burgers to pasta and they really loved it. Local dishes can be too ordinary and bland for anybody who consumes it every day, but food from other regions: sauces, spices and etc, can increase their life experience and change their diet, making their life much happier. Sometimes it even helps with curing some medical conditions, because local ingredients can be allergic.

In conclusion, consuming meals from different cuisines has advantages, that certainly overweight disadvantages. It can expand people’s experience and make them more open-minded to other cultures.