In many countries, people can eat a wide variety of food today. As a result,they eat food from other regions instead of local food. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it is common for many people to eat a wide array of foods, including dishes from countries on the other side of the world. It seems obvious that the advantages of this greatly outweigh the disadvantages.

An open mind is a positive thing, and being open-minded involves being willing to try different types of food. In many countries, like the UK, people will happily eat foods from Mexico, Turkey, China, or Thailand. This helps people to become open to other ideas and cultures by slowly helping them grow accustomed to change and difference. When you go to other parts of the world, such as traditional places in Asia, people are extremely close-minded and this is reflected in their diets, which are comprised mostly of local foods.

Beyond just the psychological benefits of eating exotic foods, there are also numerous physical benefits. In the UK, traditionally the food people ate was quite plain and there was little variety. This is because the climate is cold and the land is hard. However, over the centuries, the UK adopted food from places like India, and imported copious amounts of fruit from Latin America and elsewhere. These new foods allowed a wide range of nutrients to enter the British diet, and helped boost the health of the population. This is also true of other places where the local food lacked diversity.

In conclusion, there are various advantages that make a varied diet vastly superior to a plain one. These include both psychological and physical benefits.