In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In many parts of the world, people tend to wear western-style clothes such as jeans, shirts, and suits rather than/ instead of their traditional clothing. Globalization and the influence of Western media are the main reason behind this. However, I believe this trend has a more negative than positive impact society.

Nowadays, it becomes easy to travel other countries or watching Western -culture movies. For this reason, people, particularly the youth are attracted by other cultures. The youngster often tried to copy behaviour or dresses what they see in the movies. Additionally, due to travelling people gets the chance to communicate with different types of people. Due to this, they sometimes inherit those habits what they see. For example, In Bangladesh children watch different types of cartoon or movies such as spider man, batman etc and they often try to follow those characters, which sometimes, seem in their hairstyle and dress.

However, it has bad impact on society both culturally and economically. Culturally, for the influence of European media individual are starting forget their root where they born. For example, In Bangladesh there is a type of cloth known as ‘lungi’ which was very popular among the publics, but now, in the city there seem hardly anyone wears it. Economically, the local people who actually design those traditional clothes and living their life by selling it, they certainly lost job. For example, In the Bengal there was a famous cloth which was called ‘moslin’. But now, it is only in history.

In conclusion, although exposure to Western culture is unavoidable, it has led many people to abandon their traditional clothing, harming both cultural identity and local industries. Therefore, I believe this trend is largely negative.