In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Around the world, many people nowadays prefer to wear styles of clothes that come from Western nations, such as suits and jeans, instead of traditional ones. Personally, I think that western-style clothes are becoming more common thanks to their convenience as well as cost, and the trend is positive.

To begin with, many individuals wear Western-inspired dresses because of their simplicity. While many types of traditional clothes, such as Vietnam’s ao dai and Japan’s kimono, are often more complicated to wear correctly, it takes minimal time and effort to wear clothes such as jeans. Therefore, it is generally much more convenient for people to wear Western-style dresses on a daily basis. Moreover, Western-style clothes are more affordable than the traditional counterparts. Traditional clothes are often sophisticated and require specific types of textiles, which makes the manufacturing cost higher, consequently raising the selling cost. In contrast, a large majority of Western-style clothing can be mass-produced with a wide range of materials, enabling the manufacturers to sell them at low prices with profits.

From my perspective, that people wear Western-style clothes more instead of traditional dresses brings several benefits. Firstly, the resources, including time and money, people save from using Western-style clothing can be directed to other areas. For example, by saving time putting on clothes before work each day, people can have more time for matters such as preparing presentations or doing their hair. Furthermore, the money saved when they buy Western clothes can then be used to purchase traditional clothes that are of high quality. Secondly, while people might say that this phenomenon leads to a loss in the appreciation of traditional clothes, I think it is actually the contrary. When people save traditional clothes for only special occasions, each time they put them on, it is more meaningful and memorable. Appreciation is also further enhanced by the fact that by wearing them on limited special occasions, people can build a strong association between traditional dresses and fond memories. In addition,

In conclusion, I believe that people prefer Western-inspired styles of clothing because they are convenient to put on and affordable to buy. While there may be some concerns, I hold that this trend is beneficial as it not only enables people to use their time and money for other matters but also improves appreciation for traditional clothes.