In many countries, people wear more Western-style clothes (suits and jeans) than their traditional clothes. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary world, fashion trends are changing and people are leaning toward the western world’s sense of fashion, suits and jeans are clothes from that region for example. This essay will prove that this new trend can promote practicality and economic efficiency, while also examining how the strength of this development outweighs the high culture dissolution.

Firstly, western-style clothing can promote more practicality among the general public without sacrificing a sense of formality. Among the fashion trends nowadays, clothes such as traditional wear can trouble people in the movement and department and are hard to put on, while other pieces of clothing might not preserve a sense of technicality and formality despite being easier to wear, Western-style fashion seems to strike a better balance between both of them.

More importantly, with portrayals from the media, western clothing seems to be the new norm for most people, and this can help those that cannot afford to buy clothing that costs an arm and a leg. Because of its recognizable appearance and commodity, there has been merchandise that brands themselves as cost-effective modern wear. This phenomenon can not only support people to save more money, it will also increase the longevity of western-style fashion, ultimately boosting international economies.

In conclusion, while some traditional pieces of clothing like Ao dai or the Japanese Kimono might lose some popularity, it can be argued that the economic boost and new sense of practicality given to the country can make up for it. Moreover, it will also help more countries reach a common ground.