In many countries, people wear more Western-style clothes (suits and jeans) than their traditional clothes. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s society, residents often tend to choose western – style than their cultural clothes when they need something to wear. From my perspective, while it may cause certain negative effects, it seems impossible to live a comfortable life without suits and jeans. This essay will deeply explain the reason why western – style is more common and elaborate further on my opinion.

Generally, there are several reasons why almost all citizens decide to wear western – style clothes instead of some traditional customs. Firstly, the widespread effects of media, movies and social platforms on society that cause many changes in the way each person acknowledges the fashion field. This is simply because Internet users are easily affected from social media including a wide range of information about western culture. For instance, if some famous celebrities have a western style, their followers are easily inspired by them leading to a fundamental transformation in the fashion trends. Moreover, a majority of individuals believe that wearing jeans or suits are more convenient and comfortable for all casual wear and formal occasions.

However, the contemporary world has witnessed some drawbacks of this trend. The loss of cultural identity has become a disturbing issue that needs many efforts to tackle. This is due to traditional clothing being the crystallization of traditional culture that reflects a long nation’s history and its decline may cause the considerably weakened cultural heritage. More importantly, the dominance of western fashion industry may reduce the diversity of the fashion field. Indeed, when western styles become too dominant, younger generations may prefer wearing some outfits like jeans or T – shirts instead of their traditional garments such as hanbok, kimono during cultural celebrations.

Having said that, besides some negative aspects, the widespread adoption of western – style clothing also brings many advantages to individuals and society. Using western attire is the way that can help residents integrate better into global workplaces. In fact when everyone follows a similar dress code, it not only reduces cultural barriers, makes communication more efficient but also helps establish a professional appearance to the business. From a financial perspective, the growth of western – style may boost local economies immensely. In fact, in countries like Bangladesh, Vietnam, and China, textile and garment production is a major industry, providing employment for millions of workers, especially in developing economies

Personally, I would argue that western clothing has become essential for modern life nowadays. While the widespread preference for Western-style clothing may reduce the prominence of traditional garments in everyday life, it undeniably offers numerous benefits to society, ranging from enhanced comfort to economic gain.