In many countries, people wear more Western-style clothes (suits and jeans) than their traditional clothes. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

one of the prominent aspects that can reflect a person’s personality in the society is what he or she wears. Nowadays, there is a heightened inclination toward western garments. This is attributable to some determining factors, and I believe that it is a negative development in general.

To begin with, the trend derives from some root causes. Firstly, as the media develop, people around the world become able to get access to them. Hence, when media advertise western fashion garments through different devices such as TV or social media, people entice to purchase them and owing to, global media it could be easily possible. Secondly, when people moving to cities from rural areas, searching for better work and life opportunities, they want to integrate in new societies. This is feasible through confirming socially-accepted dress codes, which is western clothes by the way.

In addition, in my opinion this prevailing trend has more adverse effects. Firstly, it can cause disappearance of unique cultures. This may happen due to relentless adoption of western fashion dresses especially by the younger generations who does not know about their cultural heritage. Secondly, these western fashion brands have lower product costs because of their massive production; furthermore, they allocate massive budget to advertisements. Thus, local businesses cannot outcompete with them and this will jeopardize local economies.

In conclusion, the media pervasive globalization and immigration to cities are the main culprits of this recent trend. Furthermore, from my vantage point, it can stifle local businesses and cultural diversity.