In many countries, people wear more Western-style clothes (suits and jeans) than their traditional clothes. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Fashion can demonstrate an individual’s personality and discipline. Today, many people has been switching their style from traditional to western clothes. This trend is caused by media’s effect and social position. I believe that due to cultural values and financial issues, it is a negative development in general.

To begin with, this replacing approach among people, especially teenagers is the result of some social phenomenon. Firstly, Many people are surrounded by social media and advertisements. On these platforms like Instagram, people see celebrities, who are a great source of inspiration for people. This attitude makes people to track their manners. As a result of that, people may change their styles. Secondly, the style of individuals illustrates discipline and social position. Because of that, people switch their traditional clothes with a western-style dress code, which is demonstrated as generally accepted clothes by advertisements.

In Addition, in my opinion, it’s a negative development in society. Firstly, traditional clothes show cultural values in a society. this approach among people, replaces foreign cultures with traditional cultures, and leads to the loss of culture in a country. Secondly, using western-style clothes, needs a great financial source. It is caused by luxury fashion brands that producing western-style clothes. Due to high costs of advertisement, these companies produce expensive articles which are so expensive for normal families.

In conclusion, replacing traditional clothes with western-style clothes is the result of celebrity lifestyles and higher social position opportunities. Furthermore, I completely disagree with this trend among people, especially teenagers.