In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many nations have adopted plastic bags in order to preserve food and drink and this phenomenon has become widespread among nutrition businesses. Despite the importance of these containers in keeping food and drink from waste, I would argue that the drawback of widely consuming these materials can be catastrophic for the environment and human health.

One clear advantage of utilizing plastic packaging for food and drink on a large scale is that they have the capability to preserve nutrition for a longer time without degradation in quality. Packaging enables businesses to ship their products to a farther destination and ensure the customer receives a reasonable quality product. For instance, these containers are essential for most vegetation exports in the United States where in order to transport fruits and vegetables from California to New York containers play an important role in preserving the ingredients throughout the shipment process. Hence, plastic containers provide opportunities for products to be imported to farther places.

However, I would argue that in spite of their capabilities to preserve edible materials, fibre bags have significant disadvantages. Firstly, their widespread use among regular consumers and large businesses has caused severe damage to the environment. These materials have resulted in substantial landfills which have damaged the ecosystem and provoked animal extinction. Take Pelikans for example, whose habitats have been subjected to litter pollution and as a consequence they are currently considered an endangered species. The more plastic materials are employed, the more environmental destruction and animal suffering. Secondly, these fibre elements are proven to form cancer in the human body. Study shows that those who utilize fibre elements on a regular basis are diagnosed more with cancer cells inside their body and eventually, if not treated immediately these cells have the potential to turn into a life-threatening disease like leukaemia. By contrast, people who prefer paper bags did not show any signs of related illness.

In conclusion, whilst plastic containers help conserve materials for a longer span of time, I would argue that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits as they are harmful to nature and can cause severe illnesses in humans.