In many countries, plastic containers have become more common than ever and are used by many food and drink companies. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary epoch, environmental issues, especially related to plastic-based commodities, are chronic and pervasive. On the grounds of the massive spread of the food and beverage industry, plastic has made its way to the most widely-used material for packaging. As far as I am concerned, this everlasting phenomenon does more harm than good to both society and the environment.

On the one hand, it is incontrovertible that plastic receptacles are somewhat beneficial to the food and drink industry. First and foremost, thanks to elastic containers such as boxes, bottles, etc. with a cheaper-costed input, more affordable dishes may well be produced for people from every class. Meanwhile, containers made by other highly-expensive materials such as wood, iron, etc., may exaggerate the cost of products, lessening the lucrative revenue for companies and sellers. Additionally, the longer life span of plastic containers can perpetuate the longevity of food and beverage. The vulnerability of glass, the rust of iron, and the moldiness of wood can easily be alleviated with the appearance of mold, which is scarcely influenced by external impacts.

On the other hand, I deem that the over employment of elastic triggers horrendous ramifications, even threatening to human beings. To shed light on, it is single-use plastic packaging that may exist eternally or take millennia to completely disintegrate. At first, it would break into micro-fragments, being intrusive into humans and causing a plethora of diseases including cancer, poison, to name but a few. Eventually, microplastic may be absorbed into the earth, groundwater or air, which can bring living beings to the verge of extinction. Moreover, on the condition of people utilizing plastic without a sense of environmental protection, molded waste is rarely treated accurately, accumulating gigantic landfills. Unequivocally, this circumstance is detrimental to the environment and to the survival of mankind in the long run.

To encapsulate, from the aforementioned reasons, I reaffirm that despite several trivial benefits, using elastic uncontrollably should be prohibited due to its remarkable demerits to the world.