in many countries, the number of parents teaching their children at home is increasing. do the advantages of homeschooling outweigh the disadvantages.

Homeschooling is becoming increasingly popular among parents, who seek to control their children by themselves rather than sending them to schools. While there are numerous advantages, I think that the drawbacks of this growing trend outweigh them.

One of the biggest advantages of homeschooling is that parents are able to tailor the learning experience to child’s ability to learn. For example, a student gifted in algebra can go all over the topics by themselves and their parents without being held in a classroom, where everything is organized and standardized. Similar with the opposing. A child with learning difficulties like dyslexia can have a one-on-one support by their parents in a comfortable set-up. Another advantage is safety. Parents can choose their children to study under their control, making the learning process a lot safer. For example, youngsters with social anxiety or bullying can be taught at home, removing problems facing.

The disadvantages, however, should not be overlooked. One of the main drawback of homeschooling is he lack of social interaction and the emotional state of the child. In a standard teaching environment, children engage in group activities, do group projects, attend school events or participate in team activities, naturally developing their communication skills. For example, students engaged in school activities tend to do better in university life or collaborative work. Another key feature to mention is academic diversity. While parents tend to take care of their children, setting a comfortable environment, they are not as qualified as teachers at schools, thus they can’t teach subjects like advanced science and biology, possibly varying the education a child receives to parents’ knowledge and teaching experience. Last disadvantage to consider is the lack of extracurricular activities. Most schools offer P.E, music, arts and drama classes to children. When homeschooling, these opportunities might be minimal, especially in rural areas, where access to programs is limited.

In conclusion, while there are many advantages to consider, I firmly believe that disadvantages of this trend overweight disadvantages.