In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Recently, industries have become increasingly competitive resulting in the rising concerns for mental health issues such as stress. Although job markets appear to be correlated to the rise in excessively stressed individuals, stress has been proven to be a multi factorial issue. With many triggers behind stress, it is also abundant in methods to cope with overwhelming anxiety.

One of the main reasons linking to stress among adults is financial pressure. As job positions become limited, many face unemployment while some are forced to work occupations offering minimum wages. Subsequently, inflation has greatly contributed to financial struggles as people may no longer afford rent and nutritious meals. To cope with such unfortunate events, therapists have repeatedly advised individuals to distract themselves from undesirable circumstances and instead practice spending quality time with loved ones.

Furthermore, processed meals and fast food has been gaining popularity increasing the risks for diseases like coronary vascular diseases, anemia and rickets. In the event that a family member were to become hospitalized brings forth many stressful occasions. Not only would they have to endure the possibility of permanently losing someone who shares close bonds, they might also feel anxious towards future surgical procedures and the costs for life support. According to a well known saying “prevention is better than cure”, stress from illnesses can easily be avoided by improving ones lifestyle by simply incorporating exercises and consumption of well balanced diets.

Nonetheless, it is not to say that young adults and teenagers are unaware of feeling stressed. Before entering adulthood, they must presevere academic pressure and the anxiety that follows an uncertain future. If undergraduates and postgraduates were asked about their worries, a common answer would be failing to meet deadlines or disappointing their loved ones. As the privilege of education has been engraved into young minds, they believe that they must live up to high expectations or even exceed unrealistic standards. To reduce the burden among youngsters, healthcare professionals have recommended people to focus more enjoyable experiences and engage with humorous individuals.

In conclusion, challenges in life are bound to cause stress but we must not dwell on negative thoughts. Rather perceiving our lives as miserable and unfortunate, we should make effort to find improvements and appreciate small aspects of life. Whether being an elderly or a young adult, there are many different mechanisms to cope with stress as there are many reasons behind stress.