In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

The population affected by stress has seen an increase in many nations. This is mostly due to the fact that their jobs put them under a lot of pressure and it is not easy to have a good work-life balance. Nevertheless, their employers should be aware of this and make an effort to aliviate it.

It is not easy having some job roles, they can have a lot of responsibilites that can cause axiety, stress and a higher number of work hours. For example, investment banking is one of the areas with employees who are the most stressed, mainly due to the large ammount of work they have, which affects their social life. Line managers in corporate companies also suffer from this as it can be stressful to make some decisions.

However, knowing this, employers should try to implement measures to change it. Not only the employees would beneficiate, the whole company would, due to the fact that people who are more relaxed tend to be more productive. Something that can be taken into consideration to help this cause, is having mandatory breaks, so that employees do not have to work several hours without relaxing and zoning out a little from their responsibilities. Furthermore, a larger number of paid time off days can be a good measure, because sometimes all it takes is a day out of the office to have a fresh start.

In conclusion, I think that the number of people suffering from stress is increasing because they aren’t able to have a social life or their job role is too stressful. Companies are the main responsible for tackling this, as they can implement policies to help them.