In many countries, the proportion of older people in the population is increasing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend for society?

Nowadays, in many developed countries, individuals are often preferring single child concept. Resultantly, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. This essay will discuss the positive and the negative effects on society.

To be more specific, the increasing number of old people has become a major concern in many countries. Because of that, developed countries are facing many problems such as labour shortage, and they have to invite other countries’ immigrants to protect their economy. For example, in many European countries, average individuals age around 47 years. These numbers show that those countries are suffering to a shortage of young individuals who help their country in research, innovation, protect their economy and culture. Additionally, many countries are inviting other countries’ students and workers, who help them to protect their economy, but they also bring their culture with them, which can be harmful for an immigrating nation’s culture.

On the other hand, there are also some positive points for the increasing number of old people. Firstly, old individuals often have lot of life experience. These experience they can use to make many important decision to protect nation’s economy and culturel values. For instance, in many developed nations, governments and multinational companies are hiring elder individuals to make some important decisions, which improve their economical growth significantly.

In conclusion, although elder individuals have lot of experience and capable to make decision wisely, there are many negative effects of the increasing numbers of older individuals, such as labour shortage, affect research and innovation project , and reduce cultural values. This tend have more negative effect then positive effect on society.