In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

The number of senior citizens is getting higher in a lot of countries. Although young people can learn a lot of things due to their experiences and traditions of these countries can remain remembered, I believe that there are more disadvantages, such as this increase may make the percentage of young people lower and many elderly people are not capable of doing some work. Moreover, they can get easily sick so it makes them a risky transmitter.

There are certain benefits of this increase. Individuals, who have not enough experiences in life, can get a lot of primary advice. The old inherently have a wide outlook. Thus, the price of some advice by them may be priceless. For instance, a young couple can learn how to overcome the difficulties of marriage, such as some conflicts in a relationship from an old couple. Another positive is that people from a country, which senior citizens occupy more, may not be inclined to forget their traditions. Elderly people normally have some intense connections to their customs. These kinds of people normally do certain things that they should do, when important days for their culture come. To illustrate, an Azerbaijani grandfather can teach the importance of the traditional holiday “Novruz” and what previous citizens normally did in this period. However, I think these points are not as significant as drawbacks of the increase that I wrote about.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of the increase of older people. If the proportion of these humans increases, the percentage of young people can decrease. In the modern era, mostly, some solid ideas come from young brains, so a low percentage of the young can be a big obstacle to improve for a country. To illustrate, previously, the ratio of elderly people to young ones was 4:5 in the Ottoman Empire. The percentage of the young was the lowest in Europe, so, this empire was unlikely to improve in science. Secondly, some older people can easily handle some work that people have been doing for a long time, but saying it for some modern jobs wouldn’t be too correct. Because these technological jobs are mostly not suitable for them. One clear example is old Coca-Cola company workers, most of them abandoned their jobs after the improvement of automation. Last but not least, senior citizens may be inclined to get sick and they can cause other people to get sick too. Their organisms are not as strong as the young. For example, the people who got and transmitted the virus were mostly these people. Compared to the above – discussed advantages, I believe disadvantages are more significant.

To sum up, in my opinion, despite old people’s experiences and the way that they keep the traditions of their nations, the drawbacks of the increase of elderly people are more important due to the facts that this increase can influence on young people percentage in the bad way and the old do not have some skills that required for some modern jobs. Additionally, they can be ill easier than the young and they can be the source of these illnesses.